IndieWebCamp is a 2-day creator camp focused on growing the independent web

2012/Guest List

Contents

Event

IndieWebCamp: June 30, 2012 () at 10am through July 1 () at 6pm. Additional URLs: calagator, lanyrd, plancast

Requirements

personal identity

To add yourself to the guest list, you'll need to create an account on this wiki and add yourself to this page.

Log in with your own domain!

Using your Google Profile as your Open ID is not good enough! Using your Facebook page as your identity is not good enough! If you're serious about the Indie Web, then you can demonstrate that by setting up your own domain.

creators only

Like IndieWebCamp 2011, IndieWebCamp 2012 is for active creators only in order to focus the limited time we have on productive real world discussions and code/design/ux sharing that will help us move forward.

Being a creator means you must do one or more of:

  • code. create or contribute to indieweb open source projects
  • design. create or contribute to indieweb designs, graphic, layout, adaptive or otherwise.
  • ux. create wireframes or other indieweb user interface flows

As an indieweb creator, you must be using the things you create (code, design, ux) on your personal site.

As an indieweb camp creator, you must share at least some small part of what you create and run on your personal site.

Still not sure if you're an indieweb creator?

Check out the Creator wiki page.

apprentices to creators

Perhaps you don't have a personal site.

Perhaps you're a creator, but only for other people, and don't actively create things for your own site.

Maybe you're really excited about the IndieWeb and want to join it as soon as you can!

You can still attend IndieWebCamp as an apprentice to a creator.

A creator may bring an apprentice, and is completely responsible for them.

If you're not a creator, but want to be, or want to create and contribute to the indieweb but don't know where to start, team up with a creator, and ask them to add you.

In the meantime, be sure to get setup with your own personal identity so you can contribute to the wiki, and start learning what you can do to add your personal site to the indie web.

Official Guest List

Venue Capacity: 50

Planners: Tantek Çelik, Aaron Parecki, and Amber Case. Want to help? Sign up to volunteer!.

Create your account, then add:

  • Your name linked to your wiki user page (optionally a link to your company/organization/project(s) after your name)
  • URL to your personal indieweb site (will be auto-linked by the wiki)
  • link(s) to the code/design/ux shared projects that you create/iterate/contribute to that you run on your indieweb site. e.g. links to github or even directly to files on your own site as long as they have self-contained open source or content licensing as appropriate.

Creators

Alphabetically sorted by full display name.

Name (org) Personal URL Stuff I create on/for my site Other (profiles, projects etc.)
Aaron Parecki (Geoloqi.com) http://aaronparecki.com/ Photo Archiver, pkwiki @aaronpk, github.com/aaronpk
Alex Linsker (AlexLinsker.com) http://alexlinsker.com/ @alexlinsker
Amber Case (Geoloqi.com) http://caseorganic.com/ @caseorganic
Amye Scavarda (Acquia) http://msamye.com/ @msamye
Audrey Eschright (Calagator) http://lifeofaudrey.com/ Calagator, ePDX @spinnerin, github.com/aeschright
Ben Atkin http://benatkin.com/ wordpress-resource-infobox @benatkin github
Bethany Soule (Beeminder.com) http://bethaknee.com/ @thatgirl
Brennan Novak https://brennannovak.com Social-Igniter @brennannovak
Brett Slatkin (Google, Inc.) http://onebigfluke.com/ PubSubHubbub @haxor
Brian J. Brennan (Mozilla Foundation) http://bjb.io Open Badges @brianloveswords
Charles Shopsin http://inane.org Modern Mechanix @shopsinc
Dann Stayskal http://dann.stayskal.com books on human rights, music, software (AI, ciphers, etc.), photos @danndalf, github.com/danndalf, part of March Hare
Danny Reeves (Beeminder.com) http://dreev.es/ @dreev
Don Park http://donpark.org IceCondor android location, Geomena Creative Commons Wifi Location Database, EverythingFunded crowd-sourced fund-raising @donpdonp, github.com/donpdonp
M. Edward (Ed) Borasky http://borasky-research.net Publisher's Twitter Workbench,Computational Journalism Server @znmeb
Erin Jo Richey http://www.erinjorichey.com @erinjo
Evan Prodromou http://evanprodromou.name/ StatusNet, ActivityPump, spamicity.info acct:evan@status.net
Jan-Christoph Borchardt (Unhosted) http://jancborchardt.net Design Dictator, Unhosted, ownCloud, Libre Projects. Wrote Usability in Free Software, connect students & free software. @jancborchardt, github.com/jancborchardt
Jillian Ada Burrows (Creative Sagacity) http://adaburrows.com/ Dynamis PHP Framework github.com/adaburrows, @jburrows, My Blog
Joseph Boyle (http://pde.cc/) http://josephboyle.net
Julien Genestoux http://ouvre-boite.com Superfeedr @julien51
Martin Dluhos http://martas.me/ github.com/martasd
Kyle Drake http://kyledrake.net Best of NHK @kyledrake
Mark Murphy http://murphysw.com/ volved.org
Mike Sugarbaker http://gibberish.com/ @misuba
Mime Čuvalo http://nightlight.ws/ Hello, world.
Nabil Maynard http://nadreck.me @Nadreck
Nathan Vander Wilt http://exts.ch ShutterStem photo manager Personal location history Indie aerial/satellite map tiles CouchDB blog engine etc. @natevw
Nicholas Hallahan http://theoutpost.io/ Federated Wiki, The Wild West
Rabble - Evan Henshaw-Plath http://anarchogeek.com/ @rabble
Reid Beels http://reidbeels.com Calagator, ePDX @reidab, github.com/reidab
SeanConnell http://seanconnell.net/ Hang Gliding Flyable Predictor @seanrconnell
Shane Becker (Engine Yard & Rubinius) http://iamshane.com NewBase60 (for URL compression/expansion), Homesteading (custom Ruby / Rails CMS), and a whole series of custom one off duct tape and popsicle stick scripts @veganstraightedge
Tantek Çelik (Mozilla) http://tantek.com/ CASSIS JS∩PHP (on github), Whistle (URL shortener), Falcon (my CMS), RelMeAuth @t, github.com/tantek
Teejay VanSlyke http://tjvanslyke.com/ Moola payments framework Minify ebook Make Something Today ebook Elias Moniker @teejayvanslyke
Travis Wellman http://traviswellman.com/ the Spaciousness project BaseParadigm, a content addressable graph paradigm for data ownership @wavis

Apprentices

Apprentices, add yourselves with your name, personal URL (if any), Creator, more info. Alphabetically sorted by given name.

Name (org) Personal URL Apprentice Of More info
Ashley Mccorkle (Ashley on Slideshare) https://twitter.com/amccorkle Amber Case
Jason Grlicky http://jasongrlicky.com/ Crystal Beasley @jasongrlicky
Merilyn Gottlieb Aaron Parecki @harborjournal
Michael Dexter http://callfortesting.org/ Tantek Çelik @michaeldexter
Ben Michel http://benmichel.com Nathan Vander Wilt @obensource
Taizoon Doctor http://volved.org Mark Murphy @taizoon

Missed:

Name (org) Personal URL Apprentice Of More info
Edward Irby (Creative Sagacity) http://castersblues.com Jillian Ada Burrows

Final Count

From Aaron's photo it appears the final IndieWebCamp Classof2012 count is:

  • 39 total in-person (7 women = ~18%)

But from the above builders + apprentices lists:

  • 42 total (36 creators, 6 apprentices)

So either we missed a few regrets above, or we haven't identified a few folks that attended but were not pictured.

Remote Participants

Name (org) Personal URL Stuff I create on/for my site Other (profiles, projects etc.)
Randall Leeds (Hypothesis Project) http://bleeds.info/ Apache CouchDB @tilgovi
Barnaby Walters (Freelance Luthier) http://waterpigs.co.uk/ As-yet unnamed/non-public CI publishing app @barnabywalters
Johannes Ernst (Cloudstore) http://upon2020.com/ Cloudstore: setup personal clouds, InfoGrid web graph database, previously OpenID board member, Light-Weight Identity creator @Johannes_Ernst.

Regrets

Folks that had to cancel (but hopefully can participate before/after remotely!)

Name (org) Personal URL Stuff I create on/for my site Other (profiles, projects etc.)
Andi Galpern ([1]) http://www.idreamofdesign.com

http://www.cascadesf.com

Founder of CASCADE SF, Visual Designer & Front End Developer @andigalpern, @cascadesf
Katie Johnson (The Hikery) http://flavors.me/katiejohnsonsf Tantek Çelik @aStateofKate
Nat Welch http://www.natwelch.com lots of random stuff @icco
Ward Cunningham http://ward.fed.wiki.org/ Smallest Federated Wiki @wardcunningham

Missed You

Sorry to miss you folks - hopefully you can make it next year!

Name (org) Personal URL Stuff I build on/for my site Other (profiles, projects etc.)
Brent Rieck http://spek.org

http://heavydutymayo.com

@bsr
Christian Crumlish http://mediajunkie.com yahoo design pattern library, social patterns wiki, book, etc. @mediajunkie
Kirsten Comandich http://www.comandich..com/ @kcomandich
Lyza Gardner http://lyza.com @lyzadanger, HFMW
Petra Gregorova (ISITE Design) http://petragregorova.com/ @petragregorova