IndieWebCamp is a 2-day creator camp focused on growing the independent web

2013/Guest List

Contents

Event

IndieWebCamp 2013 takes place through in Portland, Oregon

Additional URLs:

Requirements

personal identity

To add yourself to the guest list:

  1. Log in with your own domain!
  2. Add yourself to the #Creators section
  3. There is no step 3.

Using your Google/Facebook/Github or other silo URL as your identity is not indie enough!

If you're serious about the Indie Web, then you can demonstrate that by setting up your own domain.

creators only

Like 2011 & 2012, IndieWebCamp 2013 is for active creators only in order to focus the limited time we have on productive real world discussions and code/design/ux sharing that will help us move forward.

Being a creator means you must do one or more of:

  • code. create or contribute to indieweb open source projects
  • design. create or contribute to indieweb designs, graphic, layout, adaptive or otherwise.
  • ux. create wireframes or other indieweb user interface flows

As an indieweb creator, you must be using the things you create (code, design, ux) on your personal site.

As an indieweb camp creator, you must share at least some small part of what you create and run on your personal site.

Still not sure if you're an indieweb creator?

Check out the Creator wiki page.

apprentices to creators

Perhaps you don't have a personal site.

Perhaps you're a creator, but only for other people, and don't actively create things for your own site.

Maybe you're really excited about the IndieWeb and want to join it as soon as you can!

You can still attend IndieWebCamp as an apprentice to a creator.

A creator may bring an apprentice, and is completely responsible for them.

If you're not a creator, but want to be, or want to create and contribute to the indieweb but don't know where to start, team up with a creator, and ask them to add you.

In the meantime, be sure to get setup with your own personal identity so you can contribute to the wiki, and start learning what you can do to add your personal site to the indie web.

Official Guest List

Venue Capacity: 50

  • signed-up: 35 creators, 2 apprentices (was 3, but one Apprentice upgraded herself to a Creator during the event!)
  • missed-you: 10
  • spots remaining: 3

Want to help? Sign up to volunteer!.

Create your account, then add:

  • Your name linked to your wiki user page (optionally a link to your company/organization/project(s) after your name)
  • URL to your personal indieweb site (will be auto-linked by the wiki)
  • link(s) to the code/design/ux shared projects that you create/iterate/contribute to that you run on your indieweb site. e.g. links to github or even directly to files on your own site as long as they have self-contained open source or content licensing as appropriate.
  • IndieWebCamp buttons to your website


Wait List

Sorted by datetime added.

We are ALMOST FULL to capacity for Creators and Apprentices. Please add yourself to the bottom of the Wait List HERE:

Photo (128w) Name (org) Personal URL Stuff I create on/for my site Other (profiles, projects etc.)
avatar.jpg [[User:Example.com|Givenname Familyname]] ([http://org.example.com OrganizationName]) example.com/ stuff you've built/created or are working on creating Twitter, Github, etc.


Creators

Alphabetically sorted by full display name.

We are ALMOST FULL to capacity for Creators and Apprentices. Check the counts before you add yourself. Please add yourself to the Wait List above.

Photo (128w) Name (org) Personal URL Stuff I create on/for my site Other (profiles, projects etc.)
photo.jpg Aaron Parecki (Esri) aaronparecki.com/ p3k, webmention, webmention.io, Photo Archiver @aaronpk, github.com/aaronpk
c08a6a4dddf44f1d83724636f8c374f0.png Adam Souzis (OneCommons) http://adam.souzis.com/ Scrapple Vesper
caseorganic-indieweb-128px.jpg Amber Case (Esri) caseorganic.com/ @caseorganic
aug-face.gif Augustin Bralley http://auggernaut.com/ unhosted, datacosmos, gratzi @datacosmos, github.com/auggernaut
dual_avatar.jpg Austin King (Mozilla) http://ozten.com BrowserID, C.R.E.A.M.' @ozten, github.com/ozten


saturated.jpg Ben Werdmuller http://werd.io/ Writemo, idno @benwerd, github.com/benwerd
e45b2f874537995a2ec2db5df88f682e.png Bethany Soule http://bethaknee.com @thatgirl, github.com/bsoule
903d96c91eb06237d765695845d51e72?rating=X&size=128&fext=.jpg Brad Fitzpatrick https://bradfitz.com OpenID, PubSubHubbub, Camlistore, Go, ... @bradfitz
8d8b82740cb7ca994449cccd1dfdef5f?rating=X&size=128&fext=.jpg Bret Comnes http://bret.io git
bslatkin_headshot.jpg Brett Slatkin (Google) http://onebigfluke.com/ PubSubHubbub, camlistore @haxor, github


brian_150.jpg Brian Hendrickson http://brianhendrickson.com/ @brianjesse, github.com/voitto
me.jpg Dan Reeves http://dreev.es @dreev, github.com/dreeves
0839bed78f8f75c8cca3d4477a7fa637.png Don Park https://donpark.org/ irc bot @donpdonp, github.com/donpdonp
erin.jpg Erin Richey http://erinjorichey.com/ @erinjo
80132124e62b1dd920c406165552014fe740672de09bf1491143f92218d81b2d?s=128&.jpg François Marier (Mozilla) http://fmarier.org/ Persona, Libravatar @fmarier on Identica and Twitter, github.com/fmarier, gitorious.org/~fmarier


e93c207a37df3d85bbf072c014d9eae4?size=128.jpg Harlan T Wood (Enlightened Structure) http://ha.rlan.me github.com/harlantwood
02573ae0d0e34745b5b6c4fbefddf632.png?size=128.jpg Jack Senechal (Enlightened Structure) http://jacksenechal.com/ github.com/jacksenechal
c12d3fbfeaadf8e314d566cfd96e524e.png Jessy Kate Schingler (The Embassy Network) http://jessykate.com/ Modernomad software for open shared living spaces;  Geopad (on github) @jessykate, github.com/jessykate
jernst-wef_bigger.jpg Johannes Ernst (Cloudstore Technologies) http://upon2020.com/ LID, OpenID, Yadis for user-centric identity, InfoGrid graph database, now Personal Clouds and Cloudstore so it becomes easier to re-assert control on the web. Also, I put my pool on-line @Johannes_Ernst, Github
sig-icon.gif Josh Juran http://www.metamage.com/ Perl/Markdown -> HTML preprocessor


kmsquareprofile128.jpg Kevin Marks https://kevinmarks.com @kevinmarks, github.com/kevinmarks, Blog, Microformats, Activity Streams, FlowPast
d1a37c891b67e5ee52e5f79e56d28cb1_bigger.jpeg Maurice Edward Borasky (What Hath Von Neumann Wrought?) http://znmeb.github.io @znmeb Computational Journalism Publishers Workbench
481e3c71114ffc546315f97af9b60d64.jpg Nick Doty (W3C & UC Berkeley iSchool) http://npdoty.name [1] pulls a map of my location from [2] privacypatterns.org, @npdoty, github.com/npdoty (including some code for friendly PGP on FB profiles)
8cf18c576cd2dd6a3186ee059ceb72a6.jpg Paul Fenwick http://perltraining.com.au I write lots of APIs in Perl to get info out of other sites. @pjf, Facebook
7129ff665d962af537bf7a01f392396d.png Randall Leeds (Hypothes.is) http://bleeds.info/ CouchDB, A brand new Web journalling tool I'm making @tilgovi, github.com/tilgovi


f95a5b0086a9623387207da983c8141a?size=128&fakefilename=.jpg Reid Beels http://reidbeels.com/ IndieWeb for Communities: Citizenry, Calagator @reidab, github.com/reidab
robhead-square-small.jpg Rob Lord (Mozilla) https://roblord.org/ Mozilla Persona TBD "User Services" @ Mozilla
Sasha Kovar http://arcocene.org @github
sanchit.png Sanchit Karve http://sanchitkarve.com @github (Privly Project) Twitter
ee8facdb895a1b1f97d9e7c286982686.png Sean McGregor http://seanbmcgregor.com @github (Primarily works on the Privly Project) @seanmcgregor


member_72627212.jpeg Solomon Kinard https://solomonkinard.com/ [ github.com/sawdabee/ resource infobox] @sawdabee
logo.jpg Tantek Çelik (Mozilla) http://tantek.com/ CASSIS JS∩PHP (on github), Whistle (URL shortener), Falcon (my CMS), RelMeAuth @t, github.com/tantek
220px-Ward_Cunningham_-_Commons-1.jpg Ward Cunningham (Cunningham & Cunningham, Inc.) http://c2.com/ Federated Wiki, Txtzyme @wardcunningham, github.com/wardcunningham
logo.jpg Will Norris (Google) https://willnorris.com/ Various WordPress plugins @willnorris, github.com/willnorris
f463c712e05a400d89f323ed6c6b91a2.jpeg Davy Stevenson (Elemental Technologies) http://davystevenson.com/ Elemental Technologies is hosting us at their offices! Davy from Elemental needs to be on site during the whole event. We should help her get her own site set up! UPDATE: site set up!! Thanks Aaron! @davystevenson, github.com/davy

Apprentices

Apprentices, add yourselves with your name, personal URL (if any), Creator, more info. Alphabetically sorted by given name.

We are ALMOST FULL to capacity for Creators and Apprentices. Check the counts before you add yourself. Please add yourself to the Wait List above.

Photo (128w) Name (org) Personal URL Apprentice Of More info
becca-face.gif Becca McGovern Augustin Bralley @gratziorg


prapp2vuup4ox3vrwopf.jpeg Klint Finley Amber Case Enterprise and dev tech reporter for Wired. Columnist for TechCrunch. @klintron


Remote Participants

As with past IndieWebCamps, we'll setup remote participation for folks who can't be there in person but can still participate during the camp over IRC and hopefully live video.

Photo (128w) Name (org) Personal URL Stuff I create on/for my site Other (profiles, projects etc.)
5d5a4d-Facing-Down_100x100xCR.jpg Barnaby Walters http://waterpigs.co.uk Taproot, php-mf2, web actions github.com/barnabywalters, @barnabywalters
photo.jpg Matthias Pfefferle http://notizblog.org/ Webfinger for WordPress (on github), OStatus for WordPress (on github), Pubsubhubbub for WordPress (on github), OpenWeb Icons (on github) @pfefferle, github.com/pfefferle
8626de5d658327bccfc0963464e6bcf5?rating=X&size=128&fext=.jpg Brennan Novak https://brennannovak.com Social-Igniter @brennannovak
avatar_cc9f8de082b1_128.png Mark Wunsch http://markwunsch.com/ CLI & Ruby Lib for writing making/reading Tumblr posts in plain text, Ruby microformat lib and CLI, old but not yet dead @markwunsch, github, CC-licensed audio clips
64a4d7587e6e3db5b5ff8152b25eb1bc?s=128&d=mm&r=g&fext=.jpg Sandeep Shetty http://sandeep.io Really Simple Social Blogging, Converspace, WebMention, RecentChanges, otxt, Markaround github.com/sandeepshetty, github.com/converspace, github.com/phpish, @sandeepshetty
shane-becker-avatar-circle-small.png Shane Becker (The Farmhouse) http://iamshane.com/ NewBase60 (URL shortener based on Whistle), Homesteading, Farmhouse Conf @veganstraightedge, github.com/veganstraightedge
226570_508277977420_617357257_a.jpg Tom Morris http://tommorris.org/ Ferocity @tommorris, wikipedia, github
502a5afcc050ed5276811a98273cc10f.jpg Joseph Boyle https://josephboyle.net @josephboyle, github.com/josephboyle
6e29bd1ab6706b1c2f518848332fec45.png Mohit Gupta (Clever) http://mohitgupta.me I love privacy patterns, live here, think about design journals , want meaningful location and tweet sometimes
headshot1.jpg Glenn Jones http://glenn.jones.net/ microformats-node,

identengine,

github.com/glennjones
eschnou-cartoon-128.jpg Laurent Eschenauer http://eschnou.com/ Storytlr,

Node Ostatus,

github.com/eschnou,

@eschnou

489049809_adfd8eb0ca_m.jpg Kaliya "Identity Woman" On the fence about making it up to Portland this time. http://www.identitywoman.net @identitywoman
me.jpg Boris Smus http://www.smus.com lightning static blog engine @borismus


Regrets

Folks that can't make it (but hopefully can participate before/after remotely!)

Photo (128w) Name (org) Personal URL Stuff I create on/for my site Other (profiles, projects etc.)
3e24d16.jpg Andy Smith (termie) [3] http://term.ie/ @termie
5178dd3750e72a7ac8534613c64971aa.png?size=128.jpg Jessica Lynn Suttles http://jlsuttles.me/ Ruby microformats2 parser @jlsuttles, github.com/jlsuttles
05b73afa3f75c234598f5dadf53679ca.png Joël Franusic (Twilio) http://joel.franusic.com JSON DNS (DNS to HTTP proxy) @jf, github.com/jpf
rachel-128.jpg Rachel Wente-Chaney

With deep regrets and frustration (schedule complications).

http://rachelwente.com Snowy Dog @rwentechaney

Missed You

Sorry to miss you folks - hopefully you can make it next year!

Photo (128w) Name (org) Personal URL Stuff I build on/for my site Other (profiles, projects etc.)
112964840_75.jpg Atul Varma (Mozilla) http://toolness.com twitblob, instapoppin', simplesauce, browserid-static-file-server, quickpreso @toolness, github.com/toolness
4173515888_fb3855db91_s.jpg Audrey Eschright http://lifeaudrey.com/ IndieWeb for Communities: Calagator, Citizenry github.com/aeschright
photo.jpg Ben Atkin https://benatkin.com/ resource infobox @benatkin
gravatar.png Brian Suda () http://suda.co.uk/ @briansuda, github.com/briansuda
fpy4qy9ltc9bdb29o3jd_normal.jpeg Eric Holscher http://ericholscher.com/ http://readthedocs.org http://writethedocs.org @ericholscher
d603196f3e414923a985c897c2d3a8fb.jpg Faddah Wolf http://ialsowent.com/ Github stuff, Javascript coding, Wordpress Blogs, HTML5 coding, web & mobile stuff. @yuetsu on Identi.ca and Twitter, faddah on Facebook, also on Google+, Instagram, YouTube, Vimeo and, of course, Github.
d2b645001d35dbeb0bee1300f8d0ef40.jpg?size=128.jpg Gwen Bell http://gwenbell.com/ github.com/gwenbell
pipe.jpg Kyle Drake http://kyledrake.net/ Coinpunk
self-hosted DIY Bitcoin wallet service
Neocities
GeoCities V2. Make your own identity/home page.
@kyledrake Github
0c4c8af.jpg Matt Lee (Foo Communications) http://matt.lee.name/ Libre.fm (Social music platform, on gitorious), GNU social/StatusNet @mattl @mattl @mattl
profile-pic-richard-thumb.png Richard Caceres http://rchrd.net @github (Various DIY web projects including a static portfolio site generator)